ADVERTISEMENT
Gamerang is the best place to rent video games - buy video games, compare prices, read reviews, game rating and check out our iPhone and iPad apps! - Stories tagged with Previews
1
shouts

GDC: Reviving MechWarrior with the CryEngine 3

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 2104 days, 12 hours, 48 minutes ago
Monday, March 12, 2012 8:50:08 AM GMT
I was a pretty big fan of MechWarrior back in the day. I kind of have a thing for mechs, and I thought it was really awesome. What little kid wouldn't want to blow up giant robots with lasers and missiles fired from other giant robots? Still, it's been a long time since we've had a proper MechWarrior game. (more)
category: industry | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: freemium, free-to-play, GDC, mech, pc, Previews, Simulation
1
shouts

Preview: Lupine comedy in MacGuffin's Curse

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 2104 days, 12 hours, 49 minutes ago
Monday, March 12, 2012 8:48:48 AM GMT
MacGuffin's Curse is an adventure puzzler that promises comedy, addictive puzzles, and a compelling story. The name alone should give you a hint at the humor, and the puzzles are reminiscent of those found in Zelda-style dungeons. Without having completed the game, it's impossible to say how fulfilling the story is, but it does have a nice hook to keep you playing. (more)
category: iphone | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: apple, Indie, iOS, Ipad, iphone, MAC, pc, Previews, Puzzle Games
1
shouts

The Secret World: An unconventional, modern MMO

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 2120 days, 11 hours, 41 minutes ago
Saturday, February 25, 2012 9:56:55 AM GMT
The Secret World is coming along quite nicely. We saw Funcom's unconventional modern day, classless, action driven MMO at their offices late last year, but I've had the pleasure of checking in on their progress last week. They're about to wrap up on about a decade of work, putting the final touches on this early summer release, and it's clear that they're excited for the world to start playing their game. (more)
category: industry | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: electronic arts, funcom, MMO, Previews
1
shouts

Preview: Getting in deep with the Triads in Sleeping Dogs

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 2128 days, 13 hours, 15 minutes ago
Friday, February 17, 2012 8:23:18 AM GMT
I'm so glad this game has shaped into what it is now, because when I first heard that Sleeping Dogs was originally titled True Crime: Hong Kong, I thought to myself, "Damn it, hopefully this will be a short demo." Once I saw the game in action, though, and was informed that it was always meant to be a completely original IP (with or without the True Crime handle), I shed all reservations and instantly grew optimistic. (more)
category: ps3 | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: Action, activision, just cause, open world, pc, Previews, ps3, square enix, top stories, Xbox 360
1
shouts

Preview: Yesterday

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 2131 days, 11 hours, 45 minutes ago
Tuesday, February 14, 2012 9:52:40 AM GMT
If Double Fine’s recent Kickstarter campaign has proven nothing else, it’s that gamers still want to play old-school, 2D, point-and-click adventure games. As Tim Schafer said in his video intro, the genre seemed to have resided only in our “memories and Germany.” (more)
category: industry | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: Adventure Games, europe, pc, Point and click, Previews
1
shouts

Preview: Street Fighter X Tekken through a noob's eyes

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 2132 days, 12 hours, 45 minutes ago
Monday, February 13, 2012 8:52:49 AM GMT
A friend once told me he thought fighting games had cool characters. After he wiped the blood from his head, he quickly apologized to me and said, "Perhaps I should rethink that statement." Then miraculously, out of a nearby TV jumped Roger from Tekken, Voldo from SoulCalibur, and Rufus from Street Fighter. Though I wasn't surprised in the least, my friend stood perplexed as he watched Roger jump around adorably, Voldo slither on the floor and hiss in a homoerotic fashion, and Rufus consistently break wi... (more)
category: ps3 | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: Fighting Games, pc, Previews, ps vita, ps3, PSP, Street Fighter, Tekken, Xbox 360
1
shouts

Preview: 5 things to know about Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 2148 days, 10 hours, 9 minutes ago
Saturday, January 28, 2012 11:28:57 AM GMT
The original Tony Hawk's Pro Skater holds a special place in my gaming heart, as it does in Conrad's. I was fresh out of high school without a lot of money, and the addictive nature of trying to complete the perfect run eliminated the need for any other game. It was the perfect fix for when I was happy, sad, or just plain bored, and it only got better with the second installment -- especially the Dreamcast version. (more)
category: xbox360 | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: activision, playstation 3, Previews, PSN, tony hawk, xbla, Xbox 360, Xbox Live Arcade
1
shouts

Preview: Collisions are a glorious thing in DiRT Showdown

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 2148 days, 10 hours, 10 minutes ago
Saturday, January 28, 2012 11:28:12 AM GMT
Codemaster's DiRT series has always been known for offering gamers a rally racing series with a great physics engine and smart A.I. opponents that push back as aggressively as the player pushes them. Perhaps the greatest single aspect that has separated the series from other games of its ilk would be the damage modeling that accounts for some of the most exciting and visceral crashes experienced in racing games. (more)
category: ps3 | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: codemasters, DiRT, pc, Previews, ps3, Racing Games, Xbox 360
1
shouts

Preview: The roads are empty in Ridge Racer for PS Vita

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 2150 days, 10 hours, 42 minutes ago
Thursday, January 26, 2012 10:56:14 AM GMT
The new installment for PlayStation Vita is somewhat of an oddity. I can't remember a time when my opinion of a game had ever been influenced by the business model used to release it. Already out in Japan, and already taking plenty of heat in the West, Ridge Racer for Vita is a bare bones experience out of the box, as most of its content is planned to be released later on via download. (more)
category: ps3 | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: Namco-Bandai, Previews, ps vita, PSP, Racing Games, ridge racer
1
shouts

CES: Alan Wake's American Nightmare kicked my ass

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 2164 days, 12 hours, 53 minutes ago
Thursday, January 12, 2012 8:45:21 AM GMT
I was a big fan of Remedy's Alan Wake. But one of the less thrilling aspects was the combat, which never really evolves much throughout the game and begins to feel a little like a chore the longer you go. My solution to this was to simply play on nightmare difficulty, where you spend far more time fleeing from enemies than actively trying to stop them and that kept the excitement level up. (more)
category: xbox360 | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: Alan Wake, Previews, remedy, Xbox 360, Xbox Live Arcade
1
shouts

Preview: Hitman: Absolution is more than a stealth game

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 2164 days, 12 hours, 53 minutes ago
Thursday, January 12, 2012 8:44:45 AM GMT
Later this year, Hitman: Absolution will continue Agent 47's masterful descent into the dark life of an assassin. In the past, the Hitman series has never been what one would call an intense action experience, but for gamers who prefer a more Rambo-esque affair, developer IO Interactive has made sure Absolution offers something for everyone. (more)
category: ps3 | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: Action, hitman, io interactive, Previews, ps3, square enix, stealth, Xbox 360
1
shouts

Fantastic Arcade: Serious Sam 3 may be the best one yet

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 2270 days, 14 hours, 37 minutes ago
Wednesday, September 28, 2011 7:00:44 AM GMT
As Jim Sterling said in his E3 preview, Croteam’s latest has all the silly enemies and weapons you want. It’s shaping up to be every bit as good as past entries. That’s all you can hope to hear. Except, I’m going to go one further and say it’s shaping up to be best one yet. Where previous Serious Sams felt like a placeholder for a new Doom (one that plays like the original Doom, that is), Serious Sam 3:BFE feels like the logical progression of the '90s-style, arena-based FPS. (more)
category: xbox360 | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: croteam, Fantastic Arcade, First-person shooter, Notable, pc, Previews, ps3, Serious Sam, Xbox 360
1
shouts

Hands-on: Battlefield 3 single-player campaign

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 2281 days, 12 hours, 4 minutes ago
Saturday, September 17, 2011 9:34:07 AM GMT
I am no stranger to the Battlefield series, at least not the console iterations. After sinking hours of my time into both Bad Company games and even convincing family and friends to buy the game so that we could spend countless evenings going online and 'squadding up' in both Rush and Conquest modes, I gradually weaned myself off. (more)
category: xbox360 | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: Battlefield, DICE, ea, First-person shooter, hands-on, Previews, ps3, top stories, xbox360
1
shouts

TGS: Hands-on with Lumines Electric Symphony

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 2281 days, 12 hours, 5 minutes ago
Saturday, September 17, 2011 9:33:09 AM GMT
The TGS demo for this sequel was really short, like 1.5 stages short. I got to refresh my block dropping skill on the first stage, a pink and grey colored throb-fest that looked fantastic on the Vita's screen. Blocks seemed to pop off the screen, and now they're 3D. From there the game moved on to a more mildly colored level where windmills spun in the background. And just when I got into it the screen faded to black and thanked me for playing. That's all there was. (more)
category: industry | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: Previews, puzzle, Tokyo Game Show, ubisoft
1
shouts

TGS: Tekken Hybrid is looking good in 3D on the PS3

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 2283 days, 17 hours, 35 minutes ago
Thursday, September 15, 2011 4:02:56 AM GMT
Namco had the Prologue demo playable and it was, well, it was Tekken. It's the Tekken you know and love, but with some tweaks here and there. Specifically, you can perform team tag attacks called Tag Assault. It's basically you and your tag team partner ganging up on your opponent for maximum damage. Every character can do team attacks, but specific teams will perform special moves (like say the two Kings ganging up will be better than a King and Law duo, for instance.) (more)
category: ps3 | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: Fighting Games, Namco-Bandai, Previews, ps3, Tekken, Tokyo Game Show
1
shouts

Hands-on: Torchlight II

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 2289 days, 13 hours, 21 minutes ago
Friday, September 09, 2011 8:17:08 AM GMT
By now, I'm sure many of you are already familiar with Torchlight, the inaugural opus of developer Runic Games. It was a class-based action RPG/dungeon-crawler that bears an uncanny resemblance to a hypothetical hybrid of Diablo and Gauntlet. (more)
category: industry | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: Notable, pax, pc, Previews, Torchlight
1
shouts

SDCC: Leedmees, a body puzzle game for Kinect

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 2336 days, 12 hours, 10 minutes ago
Sunday, July 24, 2011 9:27:37 AM GMT
With games for Microsoft's Kinect, you are the controller, but there's not much out there where your body is the solution to a puzzle. Well, I should say that your body position is the solution to a puzzle. You'll flail and pose to save little creatures and guide them to their planet in Leedmees, a new Kinect puzzle title from Konami. (more)
category: xbox360 | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: Comic-Con, kinect, konami, Previews, xbox360
1
shouts

E3: Silent Hill: Downpour is exactly what I wanted

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 2382 days, 13 hours, 32 minutes ago
Wednesday, June 08, 2011 8:05:52 AM GMT
I'm coming fresh from just having spent some time with Silent Hill: Downpour. I wanted to hurry and write this up while it was still fresh on my mind. I wanted to tell fellow Silent Hill franchise fans that I'm feeling really good about how Downpour is looking right now. Really good. (more)
category: ps3 | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: 3d, e3, konami, Previews, ps3, silent hill
1
shouts

E3: Hands-on with Shinobido 2 for PlayStation Vita

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 2382 days, 13 hours, 34 minutes ago
Wednesday, June 08, 2011 8:04:14 AM GMT
My second attempt was a bit more successful. I made better use of the various control methods the Vita provided, making it easier to sneak around feudal Japan on my assigned killing mission. Touching the back of the Vita's touchpad instantly kicks the game into a first-person look mode, which lets you get a better feel for your surroundings to cover your back, or throw weapons. The front touchscreen lets you access a map and other guide features for your mission. (more)
category: industry | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: e3, Ninjas, Previews, ps vita
1
shouts

The Final Preview: The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 2437 days, 13 hours, 49 minutes ago
Thursday, April 14, 2011 7:48:24 AM GMT
Western fantasy role-playing games have moved in different directions over the years. You have the European type of games like Two Worlds II, the Gothic series, and the original The Witcher. Games that tend to expect a lot of patience from the player while giving you a huge amount of things to do in an open, yet usually (or initially) buggy world. (more)
category: industry | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: pc, Previews, Role Playing Games, the witcher
ADVERTISEMENT

Top Games Out Now

Battlefield+1 Battlefield 1 (XBox One)
XBox One | Sports | ESRB: M
Rent Status: Sign-In To View
96.0
Madden+NFL+17 Madden NFL 17 (XBox One)
XBox One | Sports | ESRB: E
Rent Status: Sign-In To View
29.0
NBA+2K17 NBA 2K17 (XBox One)
XBox One | Sports | ESRB: E
Rent Status: Sign-In To View
0.0
Gears+of+War+4 Gears of War 4 (XBox One)
XBox One | Action | ESRB: M
Rent Status: Sign-In To View
88.0
LEGO+Worlds LEGO Worlds (XBox One)
XBox One | Simulations | ESRB: E
Rent Status: Sign-In To View
0.0
Halo+Wars+2 Halo Wars 2 (XBox One)
XBox One | Action | ESRB: T
Rent Status: Sign-In To View
0.0
Middle+Earth%3a+Shadow+of+War Middle Earth: Shadow of War (XBox O
XBox One | Action | ESRB: M
Rent Status: Sign-In To View
0.0
Resident+Evil+7%3a+Biohazard Resident Evil 7: Biohazard (XBox On
XBox One | Action | ESRB: M
Rent Status: Sign-In To View
0.0
Call+of+Duty%3a+Infinite+Warfare+Standard+Edition Call of Duty: Infinite Warfare Stan
XBox One | Action | ESRB: M
Rent Status: Sign-In To View
0.0
Injustice+2 Injustice 2 (XBox One)
XBox One | Action | ESRB: T
Rent Status: Sign-In To View
0.0

Secure Transaction: For your protection, this website is secured with the highest level of SSL Certificate encryption.

Need help? Please Email Gamerang Support