ADVERTISEMENT
Gamerang is the best place to rent video games - buy video games, compare prices, read reviews, game rating and check out our iPhone and iPad apps! - Stories tagged with reviews
1
shouts

Dreams? Nightmares.

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1740 days, 21 hours, 52 minutes ago
Monday, November 12, 2012 9:23:00 AM GMT
Full disclosure: I missed out on NiGHTS when it was originally released on the Saturn. I had the demo disc, but never played it, and the PlayStation 2 release never hit North America. Now that it's available via download on console, I figured I'd take a crack at it and see what all the hype was about back in the day. (more)
category: ps3 | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: hd, pc, Platform games, ps3, PSN, reviews, sega, Xbox 360, Xbox Live Arcade
1
shouts

Welcome to my kingdom

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1740 days, 21 hours, 53 minutes ago
Monday, November 12, 2012 9:21:17 AM GMT
I cannot express enough how much I love 999: Nine Hours, Nine Persons, Nine Doors. A cross between escape-the-room puzzler and visual novel, it sits as a shining example of how powerful and engaging videogame narratives can be. Not only is 999 my favorite game of 2010, it's also one of my favorite games ever. Period. (more)
category: industry | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: 3ds, Adventure Games, aksys-games, Notable, Point and click, ps vita, Puzzle Games, reviews, Spike
1
shouts

A confederacy of dunces

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1745 days, 21 hours, 16 minutes ago
Wednesday, November 07, 2012 9:58:43 AM GMT
Deponia ended right when things were getting good, and so that’s where Chaos on Deponia begins. Despite the first reaching the West in January -- or August, really, for us Steam-lovin’ folks -- a full, bona fide sequel is already upon us. (more)
category: industry | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: Adventure Games, Daedalic Entertainment, pc, reviews
1
shouts

Not quite up to speed

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1745 days, 21 hours, 18 minutes ago
Wednesday, November 07, 2012 9:57:10 AM GMT
When LittleBigPlanet Karting was announced, the first thing I felt was pity. Pity for ModNation Racers, the build-everything karting title that Sony presented under the same "Play Create Share" banner as Media Molecule's critically acclaimed series. An LBP kart racer renders ModNation obsolete. (more)
category: ps3 | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: littlebigplanet, media-molecule, ps3, Racing Games, reviews, sony, top stories
1
shouts

A bad omen

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1745 days, 21 hours, 19 minutes ago
Wednesday, November 07, 2012 9:55:53 AM GMT
Over the years, some games have promised all the devilish glee of villainy, but regularly fell short of the mark, usually too afraid to let you be a truly unfettered bad guy. Overlord pushed itself on the premise that you were evil incarnate, but wasted its own idea by putting you up against people far more evil than your avatar. Even Grand Theft Auto, as sociopathic as its antiheroes are, typically justifies its narrative slaughter by making enemies of scumbags who unquestionably deserve their deaths. (more)
category: industry | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: Adventure Games, pc, reviews, stealth
1
shouts

An odd oily with a chromium foil finish

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1745 days, 21 hours, 21 minutes ago
Wednesday, November 07, 2012 9:53:53 AM GMT
The Paper Mario series has long followed an odd trajectory, filling in the holes left in the wake of new trends on Nintendo consoles. The original N64 title and its GameCube sequel worked to satiate both fans of 2D Mario games and fan of turn-baser RPGs, who both felt a bit left behind on those two consoles. If you hated polygon-based Mario and his adventures, and/or felt lost and alone after Square stopped publishing the numbered Final Fantasy games on Nintendo consoles, you could always turn to Paper M... (more)
category: industry | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: 3ds, 3ds xl, Mario, nintendo, reviews, Role Playing Games, top stories
1
shouts

Project Giana finally realized

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1747 days, 23 hours, 14 minutes ago
Monday, November 05, 2012 8:00:18 AM GMT
When Black Forest Games launched its Kickstarter campaign for Project Giana back in July, the intention was to provide gamers the chance to celebrate the 25th anniversary of Giana Sisters with a unique new game. As one of the first Steam Greenlight games released, it's finally here for us to see Giana all dolled up and ready for her graduation. (more)
category: ps3 | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: Indie, pc, Platform games, ps3, PSN, reviews, Steam, Xbox 360, Xbox Live Arcade
1
shouts

Maybe not the tower defense of your dreams

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1747 days, 23 hours, 15 minutes ago
Monday, November 05, 2012 7:59:34 AM GMT
Tower Defense games are fairly common these days but despite the rigidity of their design, developers still manage to take the basic tenets of the genre and make some interesting titles. Sanctum, Anomaly: Warzone Earth, and Plants vs. Zombies have all been distinct and enjoyable games. Even Orcs Must Die! and Dungeon Defenders did something unique by adding third-person action to the mix. (more)
category: industry | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: Indie, pc, reviews, Steam, tower defense
1
shouts

A good ol' fashioned slobber knocker

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1747 days, 23 hours, 16 minutes ago
Monday, November 05, 2012 7:59:01 AM GMT
Ah, annual sports iterations. Many of us await them with open arms year after year, and the rest yawn in disapproval. After the massive overhaul with the Predator Technology engine in WWE '12, fans were asking, "What's next?" (more)
category: wii | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: Fighting Games, ps3, reviews, thq, WII, Wrestling games, WWE, Xbox 360
1
shouts

Finally, Assassin's Creed on the go

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1750 days, 22 hours, 58 minutes ago
Friday, November 02, 2012 8:16:36 AM GMT
Liberation is a bit of conundrum. On one hand, it offers a pretty incredible portable Assassin's Creed experience for the first time, since the plethora of iOS spinoffs and Bloodlines didn't really do the series any true justice. (more)
category: ps3 | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: assassins creed, ps vita, PSN, reviews, ubisoft
1
shouts

A stellar fighter, to go

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1750 days, 23 hours ago
Friday, November 02, 2012 8:14:57 AM GMT
Launching just seven months ago on consoles, it seems that Street Fighter X Tekken never really caught on in the fighting game community. Some would argue this was a result of the quality of the game itself, but a bit of controversy surrounding the on-disc DLC and confusion about which characters would appear where certainly didn't help matters. (more)
category: industry | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: Capcom, Fighting Games, handheld gaming, ps vita, PSP, reviews, Street Fighter, Street Fighter X Tekken, Tekken
1
shouts

Don't lose your head

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1750 days, 23 hours, 1 minute ago
Friday, November 02, 2012 8:14:11 AM GMT
Arrows shot past me, yet somehow, none found me. A fellow soldier standing next to me wasn't so lucky, and I saw him grasping his throat and gurgling, inhumanly, before crumpling to the ground. Knights challenged me, but I ignored them all as I ran to my objective; a broken door and a lone enemy. The guard yelled at me and brought down his sword, which I deflected with my shield. Both of us staggered backwards. I raised my own weapon, he blocked, I feinted, and then I ran past him like a desperate mad man. (more)
category: industry | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: Action, Multiplayer, Online, pc, reviews
1
shouts

Bored-erlands

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1750 days, 23 hours, 2 minutes ago
Friday, November 02, 2012 8:13:14 AM GMT
While many longtime game fans sneer at mobile gaming, I've always tried to keep an open mind about it. Done right, a touch-based game is perfectly valid as a form of interactive entertainment, and while there are plenty of banal and pointless titles clogging up app stores, there remain surprisingly wonderful offerings. (more)
category: iphone | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: 2k games, Action, Borderlands, Gearbox Software, Ipad, iphone, reviews, Strategy games
1
shouts

A strong start to the Reclaimer Trilogy

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1750 days, 23 hours, 2 minutes ago
Friday, November 02, 2012 8:12:28 AM GMT
For over a decade, the Halo series was in the hands of development studio Bungie. In that time, they pioneered two generations of console shooters and created a phenomenon that has generated over $3 billion in sales. Bungie has since moved on from the series that helped establish the Xbox, handing the responsibility over to the new house of Halo, 343 Industries. (more)
category: xbox360 | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: 343-industries, First-person shooter, Halo, microsoft-studios, reviews, top stories, Xbox 360
1
shouts

A tad less wanted

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1752 days, 23 hours, 15 minutes ago
Wednesday, October 31, 2012 7:59:24 AM GMT
Need for Speed Most Wanted is quite an anticipated game for many racing fans, heralding a welcome return to Criterion's open-world style, with tons of stylish cars and modes to boot. Naturally, this is an opportunity for EA to pare down the franchise and package for mobile devices in the form of Need for Speed Most Wanted for Android and iOS. (more)
category: iphone | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: android, apple, electronic arts, iphone, need-for-speed, reviews
1
shouts

Hang together, or hang separately

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1752 days, 23 hours, 16 minutes ago
Wednesday, October 31, 2012 7:58:17 AM GMT
Following the messages hidden within his genetic memory, series protagonist Desmond and the team of Assassins supporting him have found the location of ruins left behind by the precursor race which once held dominion over the Earth. Now, they are in a desperate search to learn the secrets of this place, hoping to discover what happened to that lost race and if what they left behind might save humanity from an impending solar event threatening to destroy the world as we know it. But to reach the central c... (more)
category: xbox360 | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: Action, assassins creed, open world, pc, ps3, reviews, stealth, top stories, ubisoft, wii u, Xbox 360
1
shouts

Need for Speed Most Wanted

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1752 days, 23 hours, 19 minutes ago
Wednesday, October 31, 2012 7:56:13 AM GMT
But don't get mad if you find that I've intentionally given up placement in the next challenge to screw you over. Don't be mad if I'm sitting in hiding at the apex of the next turn, finger on the gas trigger, waiting to jump out and T-bone you into a wall to take you out. Don't be mad if I follow you around in every race, trying to bash you into other cars. I'm going to be everywhere you are, at all times. Watch your back. (more)
category: industry | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: criterion, electronic arts, need-for-speed, Racing Games, reviews, top stories
1
shouts

Release the Kraken!

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1757 days, 1 hour, 2 minutes ago
Saturday, October 27, 2012 6:12:54 AM GMT
Choosing a headset can prove to be mighty difficult in today's era. There's a ton of options; whether it's comfort level, sound quality, or functionality. Usually headsets tend to favor one factor over the other, leaving you fairly dissatisfied in the long run. (more)
category: industry | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: hardware, headsets, PC Hardware, Razer, reviews
1
shouts

Classic RPG action with fresh new unitard fashion

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1759 days, 22 hours, 26 minutes ago
Wednesday, October 24, 2012 8:49:02 AM GMT
When the 3DS was first released, an unlikely champion quickly rose to the top of a lot of early adopters' "most played games." Find Mii, the free, bare-bones, turn-based RPG that's included with the console was quick to capture and retain the attention of many. The game was so popular that Nintendo even released a sequel earlier this year, with tons of new enemies and funny little hats to collect. (more)
category: industry | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: 3ds, 3ds xl, nintendo, reviews, Role Playing Games
1
shouts

A bit of the old ultra-violence

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1759 days, 22 hours, 27 minutes ago
Wednesday, October 24, 2012 8:47:39 AM GMT
Hotline Miami is a game about impactful killing. It asks players to focus on the details of invasion and murder that we don’t often consider in games. If Max Payne diving through a window, holding guns akimbo, is on one side of the spectrum of action games, Hotline Miami exists on the other side. And, it’s a very lonely place. (more)
category: industry | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: Action, devolver-digital, pc, reviews, stealth
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next
ADVERTISEMENT

Top Games Out Now

Battlefield+1 Battlefield 1 (XBox One)
XBox One | Sports | ESRB: M
Rent Status: Sign-In To View
96.0
Madden+NFL+17 Madden NFL 17 (XBox One)
XBox One | Sports | ESRB: E
Rent Status: Sign-In To View
29.0
NBA+2K17 NBA 2K17 (XBox One)
XBox One | Sports | ESRB: E
Rent Status: Sign-In To View
0.0
Gears+of+War+4 Gears of War 4 (XBox One)
XBox One | Action | ESRB: M
Rent Status: Sign-In To View
88.0
LEGO+Worlds LEGO Worlds (XBox One)
XBox One | Simulations | ESRB: E
Rent Status: Sign-In To View
0.0
Halo+Wars+2 Halo Wars 2 (XBox One)
XBox One | Action | ESRB: T
Rent Status: Sign-In To View
0.0
Resident+Evil+7%3a+Biohazard Resident Evil 7: Biohazard (XBox On
XBox One | Action | ESRB: M
Rent Status: Sign-In To View
0.0
LEGO+Star+Wars%3a+The+Force+Awakens LEGO Star Wars: The Force Awakens (
XBox One | Action | ESRB: E
Rent Status: Sign-In To View
0.0
Call+of+Duty%3a+Infinite+Warfare+Standard+Edition Call of Duty: Infinite Warfare Stan
XBox One | Action | ESRB: M
Rent Status: Sign-In To View
0.0
Injustice+2 Injustice 2 (XBox One)
XBox One | Action | ESRB: T
Rent Status: Sign-In To View
0.0

Secure Transaction: For your protection, this website is secured with the highest level of SSL Certificate encryption.

Need help? Please Email Gamerang Support