ADVERTISEMENT
Gamerang is the best place to rent video games - buy video games, compare prices, read reviews, game rating and check out our iPhone and iPad apps! - Stories tagged with reviews
1
shouts

Do you have liquid protection?

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1797 days, 7 hours, 37 minutes ago
Tuesday, October 23, 2012 8:13:58 AM GMT
Our electronic world, for all of the new abilities it can give us, is infinitely more fragile than it once was. Some modern devices literally shatter when dropped a few feet. Hell, even the more robust devices in our silicon armories can still look like sadness and poo after one good smack on a concrete sidewalk. (more)
category: iphone | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: accessories, android, handheld gaming, hardware, iphone, Mobile gaming, reviews
1
shouts

Youth in revolt

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1797 days, 7 hours, 38 minutes ago
Tuesday, October 23, 2012 8:13:13 AM GMT
The first fifteen minutes of most games give you a good idea of everything that lies ahead. After going through the first two hours of Harvey’s New Eyes, I got the gist of what things were to come. So, this is basically some awkward throwback to '90s E-rated adventure games. At this point, I was tearing my eyes out at the game’s painful sense of humor and terrible voice acting. I actually sent an email to my editor, pleading to take me off this review. Then, I played some more. (more)
category: industry | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: Adventure Games, pc, reviews
1
shouts

Activision ditches the Spyro moniker but keeps the fun intact

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1801 days, 8 hours, 24 minutes ago
Friday, October 19, 2012 7:27:04 AM GMT
Skylanders was one of the biggest surprises of 2011. Pretty much everyone expected it to be a cheap cash-in of 90s nostalgia to sell toys to unsuspecting kids -- and boy, were we wrong. (more)
category: wii | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: 3ds, activision, MAC, pc, ps3, reviews, Skylanders, Spyro, Toys for Bob, WII, wii u, Xbox 360
1
shouts

Time to save the world... again

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1804 days, 7 hours, 37 minutes ago
Tuesday, October 16, 2012 8:13:53 AM GMT
Half-Minute Hero was arguably one of the PlayStation Portable's best games. As a deconstruction of the role-playing genre, it poked fun at its peers by condensing the core experience of an 80+ hour epic down to just thirty seconds of gameplay. Then with heaps of self-referential humor, it proceeded to roast the genre. Dragging just about every trope out of the book, the game does an admirable job at enticing players to reexamine the venerable (if stagnant) genre, warts and all. (more)
category: industry | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: pc, Real Time Strategy, reviews, Role Playing Games, Shmups, Steam
1
shouts

Greener on the other side

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1804 days, 7 hours, 38 minutes ago
Tuesday, October 16, 2012 8:13:11 AM GMT
Of Orcs and Men is one such game where a name says so much. It's a fantasy game, that much is obvious. Its literary allusion points toward strong focus on narrative. The cultured tone of the moniker suggests a developer with something to say, something worth hearing. (more)
category: ps3 | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: Action, Cyanide, pc, ps3, reviews, Role Playing Games, top stories, Xbox 360
1
shouts

No ugly duckling

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1804 days, 7 hours, 39 minutes ago
Tuesday, October 16, 2012 8:12:20 AM GMT
The Unfinished Swan is set in the remains of a long-abandoned kingdom, once under the rule of an egocentric and selfish king. Having painted most of the realm bright white, for no colors were deemed good enough for his creation, Unfinished Swan's world is made of bold shapes, defined mostly by shadow and paint thrown around by the player. (more)
category: ps3 | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: Artsy Fartsy, ps3, PSN, Puzzle Games, reviews, sony, the-unfinished-swan, top stories
1
shouts

Get down like Doc Brown

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1804 days, 7 hours, 40 minutes ago
Tuesday, October 16, 2012 8:11:34 AM GMT
The Dance Central franchise took me by surprise. In the very early stages of Kinect, I was extremely skeptical of the tech -- to be blunt, I didn't really believe in it. After testing the first entry at E3, however, I was pretty much sold that it could work given the right developer, which given Harmonix's pedigree should have been obvious from the start. (more)
category: xbox360 | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: dance central, Dance Games, harmonix, kinect, microsoft, MTV, reviews, rhythm games, Xbox 360
1
shouts

Plantagenet Warfare

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1808 days, 7 hours, 46 minutes ago
Friday, October 12, 2012 8:05:39 AM GMT
The War of the Roses was a big old 15th Century dynastic squabble between two Plantagenet houses, York and Lancaster, for the throne of England. It ended in a Lancastrian victory, the reconciliation of the two houses, and the creation of House Tudor. Most importantly, it involved a lot of battles filled with armored chaps beating the living daylights out of each other. (more)
category: industry | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: Action, Multiplayer, Online, Paradox-Interactive, pc, reviews
1
shouts

A new kind of Forza

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1808 days, 7 hours, 53 minutes ago
Friday, October 12, 2012 7:57:53 AM GMT
I've been trying to peg Forza Horizon since its announcement earlier this year, but Turn 10 and Playground Games never gave it to us straight. Is it more of a racing sim? Or a casual, arcade-style thing? Somewhere in-between? (more)
category: industry | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: forza-motorsport, microsoft-studios, Racing Games, reviews, Xbox 360
1
shouts

Comparison review: Gunnar Optiks vs. Gamer's Edge

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1829 days, 7 hours, 26 minutes ago
Friday, September 21, 2012 8:24:59 AM GMT
If you're like me, you spend an almost excessive amount of time starring at a screen, be it computer or television. Gaming for long periods of time can strain your eyes, and I find as I get older, I'm more prone to headaches as I stare at a computer screen at work only to come home and unwind by...starring at a videogame on my TV. (more)
category: industry | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: gallery, GUNNARS, hardware, reviews
1
shouts

Review: FTL: Faster Than Light

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1829 days, 7 hours, 27 minutes ago
Friday, September 21, 2012 8:24:24 AM GMT
The HMS Tribble was on fire. Every single room from the engine room to my recently purchased drone control room was being consumed one tiny square at a time. The valiant Captain Jack Jack was frantically attempting to regain control of the helm, while the other two surviving crew members -- the brave Weapons Officer Beth Buttons and the ingenious Engineering Officer Jerry Trifle -- were working together to get weapons back online. A hull breach appeared, then another, then another. Red was flashing every... (more)
category: industry | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: Indie, pc, reviews, space sim, Strategy games
1
shouts

Review: Realms of Ancient War

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1830 days, 7 hours, 33 minutes ago
Thursday, September 20, 2012 8:18:00 AM GMT
I'm a sucker for action-RPGs, dungeon crawlers, hack-and-slash...things -- you know, whatever you want to call them. Those games. My wife and I eat them up like candy, sometimes over the course of a mere weekend (as was the case with the Norrath series and the Gauntlet franchise). (more)
category: ps3 | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: Action, pc, ps3, PSN, reviews, Role Playing Games, XboX, Xbox 360
1
shouts

Review: Kirby's Dream Collection

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1830 days, 7 hours, 35 minutes ago
Thursday, September 20, 2012 8:16:24 AM GMT
My love of Kirby is known far and wide. While the games themselves are incredibly simple, the sheer charm of the titular hero and his colorful world makes for endearing, unforgettable adventures. Kirby has also seen some of the most dramatic changes of any Nintendo franchise -- from the total visual overhaul in Epic Yarn to the ten-Kirby puzzling of Mass Attack, it's a series that's not afraid to be different. (more)
category: wii | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: hal laboratory, kirby, nintendo, Platform games, reviews, WII
1
shouts

Review: Super Hexagon

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1839 days, 7 hours, 19 minutes ago
Tuesday, September 11, 2012 8:32:34 AM GMT
Super Hexagon is a game that makes your eyeballs feel like they're being forcibly twisted against your will while still in their sockets. It is a game that makes your brain feel like it's being torn up and stitched back together by a drunken doctor in a back alley. It will even, at times, make you question whether you're enjoying the experience or it's simply the pulsating visuals sending you subliminal messages that trick you into revelry. (more)
category: iphone | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: iO, Ipad, iphone, ipod touch, Mobile gaming, Puzzle Games, reviews, top stories, Winner
1
shouts

Review: Tower Wars

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1839 days, 7 hours, 20 minutes ago
Tuesday, September 11, 2012 8:31:44 AM GMT
Tower defense games are somewhat an addiction of mine; instinctively strategic yet part determination and endurance, these titles have always delighted and frustrated the wits out of me. Lately, there’s been a surge of tower defense games -- from casual to creative, each game that comes out seems to invent or broaden some new aspect of the genre. As a result, breaking the mold of basic tower defense principles and coming out with something unique can be tricky. (more)
category: industry | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: pc, reviews, Steam, Strategy games, tower defense
1
shouts

Review: Horn

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1840 days, 7 hours, 16 minutes ago
Monday, September 10, 2012 8:34:46 AM GMT
Phosphor Games knocked it out of the park with The Dark Meadow, providing a genuinely enthralling mobile game that had an interesting story and one Hell of a primary antagonist. Nevertheless, the Unreal-powered combat crawler still stood a little in the shadow of Infinity Blade, featuring a similar style of progression and screen-swiping swordplay. (more)
category: iphone | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: Action, Adventure Games, android, Ipad, iphone, Phosphor Games Studio, reviews
1
shouts

Review: Mark of the Ninja

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1840 days, 7 hours, 21 minutes ago
Monday, September 10, 2012 8:30:14 AM GMT
If PAX Prime 2012 had a yearbook, under "Most Popular" would read this week's XBLA release Mark of the Ninja. It's rare that I'm interested in a game so well liked that I have to throw elbows just to check out a demo, but there I was last weekend, shamelessly flashing press credentials like they were a goddamn police badge in my attempt to test drive this compelling, crowd-drawing title. (more)
category: industry | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: Klei Entertainment, microsoft-studios, Ninjas #Platform games, reviews, stealth, Xbox 360
1
shouts

Review: JoJo's Bizarre Adventure HD Version

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1843 days, 9 hours, 23 minutes ago
Friday, September 07, 2012 6:28:04 AM GMT
JoJo's Bizarre Adventure originated as a Japanese manga beginning in the late 1980s, and has since become a beloved series in Japan. The original videogame came to America in 2000 for the PlayStation and Dreamcast, and it is now being re-released in HD similar to what was done for Street Fighter III: Third Strike Online Edition. (more)
category: ps3 | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: Capcom, Fighting Games, ps3, PSN, reviews, Xbox 360, Xbox Live Arcade
1
shouts

Review: They Bleed Pixels

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1845 days, 7 hours, 41 minutes ago
Wednesday, September 05, 2012 8:10:13 AM GMT
Amusing story: I was sent a beta code for They Bleed Pixels so that I could get a little hands-on time before the official release. For some reason, Steam wouldn't run the game, forcing me to spend the bulk of the evening and the following morning trying to get the thing to work. Turned out to be a faulty installation of the bundled XNA Framework. (more)
category: industry | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: Brawlers, Indie, pc, Platform games, retro, reviews, Steam
1
shouts

Review: Lights, Camera, Party!

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1852 days, 9 hours, 59 minutes ago
Wednesday, August 29, 2012 5:52:24 AM GMT
Mini-games. Apparently, they're still a thing. If you own one of those new-fangled motion controllers for your system, invariably you'll discover that there are mini-game collections to be found for your device. PlayStation Move users have one of these collections available now as a download on PlayStation Network. (more)
category: ps3 | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: Mini-games, PlayStation Move, ps3, PSN, reviews
ADVERTISEMENT

Top Games Out Now

Battlefield+1 Battlefield 1 (XBox One)
XBox One | Sports | ESRB: M
Rent Status: Sign-In To View
96.0
Madden+NFL+17 Madden NFL 17 (XBox One)
XBox One | Sports | ESRB: E
Rent Status: Sign-In To View
29.0
NBA+2K17 NBA 2K17 (XBox One)
XBox One | Sports | ESRB: E
Rent Status: Sign-In To View
0.0
Gears+of+War+4 Gears of War 4 (XBox One)
XBox One | Action | ESRB: M
Rent Status: Sign-In To View
88.0
LEGO+Worlds LEGO Worlds (XBox One)
XBox One | Simulations | ESRB: E
Rent Status: Sign-In To View
0.0
Halo+Wars+2 Halo Wars 2 (XBox One)
XBox One | Action | ESRB: T
Rent Status: Sign-In To View
0.0
Resident+Evil+7%3a+Biohazard Resident Evil 7: Biohazard (XBox On
XBox One | Action | ESRB: M
Rent Status: Sign-In To View
0.0
LEGO+Star+Wars%3a+The+Force+Awakens LEGO Star Wars: The Force Awakens (
XBox One | Action | ESRB: E
Rent Status: Sign-In To View
0.0
Call+of+Duty%3a+Infinite+Warfare+Standard+Edition Call of Duty: Infinite Warfare Stan
XBox One | Action | ESRB: M
Rent Status: Sign-In To View
0.0
Injustice+2 Injustice 2 (XBox One)
XBox One | Action | ESRB: T
Rent Status: Sign-In To View
0.0

Secure Transaction: For your protection, this website is secured with the highest level of SSL Certificate encryption.

Need help? Please Email Gamerang Support