ADVERTISEMENT
Gamerang is the best place to rent video games - buy video games, compare prices, read reviews, game rating and check out our iPhone and iPad apps! - Stories tagged with reviews
1
shouts

Review: Starvoid

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1764 days, 13 hours, 17 minutes ago
Wednesday, August 29, 2012 5:51:53 AM GMT
The problem with being a wee bit lazy is that tasks mount up like an ever-increasing pile of responsibility; the result is that I frequently find myself rather busy. The long-term investment required to get the most out of the majority of multiplayer strategy affairs means that I often find myself unable to get into the more competitive side of one of my favorite genres. (more)
category: industry | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: Multiplayer, Online, Paradox-Interactive, pc, Real Time Strategy, reviews
1
shouts

Review: Counter-Strike: Global Offensive

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1768 days, 11 hours, 46 minutes ago
Saturday, August 25, 2012 7:22:45 AM GMT
In sixth grade, I would wake up for school at 5:30 AM, but then I started getting up at 4:30 just to get a couple rounds in before class. Call it dedication or a sickening obsession, but I was hooked on CS (nevermind my neighbor who broke into my house to play while I slept!) It was more than a game. It was my social hub, my iTunes visualizer, and my brief entryway into game design (which didn’t go very far.) It is and remains a standout multiplayer shooter that paved the way for things to come with Call... (more)
category: ps3 | clicked: 1 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: First-person shooter, pc, ps3, PSN, reviews, top stories, valve, Xbox 360
1
shouts

Review: Rainbow Moon

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1769 days, 10 hours, 12 minutes ago
Friday, August 24, 2012 8:57:23 AM GMT
After more notable hardcore strategy RPGs came onto the scene, the whole genre (along with most traditional Japanese RPGs) abruptly got neglected in favor of the new influx of Western RPGs that often includes a focus on action-oriented gameplay and flashier graphics. (more)
category: ps3 | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: ps3, PSN, reviews, Role Playing Games, Strategy games
1
shouts

Review: Transformers: Fall of Cybertron

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1771 days, 12 hours, 30 minutes ago
Wednesday, August 22, 2012 6:39:07 AM GMT
Transformers: War for Cybertron was one of my top multiplayer games of 2010. Something about it just worked surprisingly well, and High Moon Studios deserved oodles of kudos for providing the Transformers license with an original, structurally sound, vastly entertaining game that respected the franchise in a way other games (and certain movies) had not. (more)
category: xbox360 | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: Action, activision, high-moon-studios, pc, ps3, reviews, top stories, Transformers!, Xbox 360
1
shouts

Review: Neo Aquarium: King of Crustaceans

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1774 days, 9 hours, 59 minutes ago
Sunday, August 19, 2012 9:10:14 AM GMT
Neo Aquarium is weird. That was all I knew about the game when I started it up. Well, that and the fact that it features crabs with lasers. No more needed to be known, I thought -- this was going to be wonderful. I should have known better; the sea only brings trouble. (more)
category: industry | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: japan, pc, reviews, shooters, WUT
1
shouts

Review: Sound Shapes

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1774 days, 9 hours, 59 minutes ago
Sunday, August 19, 2012 9:09:44 AM GMT
Innovation. Smart developers seek it out in the hopes of capturing lightning in a bottle: that one grasp at a title that will delight and entertain the masses with its unique, fun take on a familiar theme, heightened through innovation. (more)
category: ps3 | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: Music games, Platform games, ps vita, ps3, PSN, reviews, sony
1
shouts

Review: Unchained Blades

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1777 days, 11 hours, 31 minutes ago
Thursday, August 16, 2012 7:38:30 AM GMT
I'm not the biggest RPG nut, but over my last decade of gaming, I have appreciated most of the RPGs I've played. After starting on Pokemon, I've played a Final Fantasy or two, and even delved into Persona. But until recently, I'd never even bothered trying the dungeon-crawler subset, specifically the type inspired by Wizardry. (more)
category: industry | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: PSP, reviews, Role Playing Games
1
shouts

Review: Rhythm Thief and the Emperor's Treasure

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1777 days, 11 hours, 31 minutes ago
Thursday, August 16, 2012 7:37:59 AM GMT
It's a story driven, rhythm-action RPG set in Paris. The main character is a skinny teenage burglar who doesn't care about money. He's a lot more interested in foiling the plans of the reincarnation of Napoleon Bonaparte and putting down his Putty-like foot soldiers with one-hit knockout punches. (more)
category: industry | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: 3ds, Music games, Puzzle Games, reviews, rhythm games
1
shouts

Review: The Last Story

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1778 days, 11 hours, 36 minutes ago
Wednesday, August 15, 2012 7:33:00 AM GMT
In trying to get Nintendo to release The Last Story in North America, I count myself among the most vocal of petitioners. As a fan of Mistalker's work and a lover of Lost Odyssey, I considered it the perfect swan song for the Wii, the kind of game that could embody everything good about the Wii (and there was plenty of good) one last time. When Nintendo refused to release it, I was among the angry and the riotous. (more)
category: wii | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: Mistwalker, nintendo, reviews
1
shouts

Review: Darksiders II

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1778 days, 11 hours, 37 minutes ago
Wednesday, August 15, 2012 7:32:04 AM GMT
Every now and then, a game comes along that seems to have the right stuff -- it's got an unforgettable visual style, a quality studio, a respectable marketing budget, and the kind of gameplay that should go over damn well with a crowd. Every now and then, a game can have all that and just be unlucky. (more)
category: ps3 | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: Action, Darksiders, pc, ps3, reviews
1
shouts

Review: Sleeping Dogs

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1778 days, 11 hours, 38 minutes ago
Wednesday, August 15, 2012 7:31:12 AM GMT
There is Grand Theft Auto and then there is everything else. Sure, Assassin's Creed and inFAMOUS do traversal better and Saint's Row has more varied missions, but no one excels at world building in the way Rockstar does. From the breakthrough hit of the open world action genre in 2001 to the innovations and insane detail of GTAIV, Rockstar has not only defined the genre but sculpted it for a decade while others just toyed around with it. (more)
category: ps3 | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: open world, pc, ps3, reviews, square enix, third-person, top stories, Xbox 360
1
shouts

Review: Hybrid

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1779 days, 10 hours, 44 minutes ago
Tuesday, August 14, 2012 8:25:13 AM GMT
Third-person shooters are a dime a dozen. From games like Gears of War to the recent Spec Ops: The Line, cover tends to play heavily into the combat, but you'd be hard pressed to find one that fully revolves around cover as not only the tactic but the main focus of gameplay. That is, until Hybrid came along. (more)
category: xbox360 | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: 5th cell, reviews, shooters, Xbox 360
1
shouts

Review: Rigonauts

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1779 days, 10 hours, 44 minutes ago
Tuesday, August 14, 2012 8:24:41 AM GMT
I wish I was a practical gent, especially when it comes to construction. Unfortunately, I can't even put up a shelf without a lot of hassle, injuries, and the expectation of fanfare at the end. Thankfully, there are a number of games out there that allow me to flex my creative muscles with little or no knowledge of how to actually build things. (more)
category: iphone | clicked: 1 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: android, Ipad, iphone, Mobile gaming, pc, Puzzle Games, reviews, Strate
1
shouts

Review: Dust: An Elysian Tail

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1779 days, 10 hours, 45 minutes ago
Tuesday, August 14, 2012 8:24:02 AM GMT
It has been a long, long time since Dust: An Elysian Tail first made itself known to the world. Simultaneously admired for its flowing cartoon animation and written off for being "that game for furries," Dean Dodrill's labor of love surprised many due to the fact that it was largely a one-man effort, yet looked like it was made by a full studio. (more)
category: industry | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: Action, Indie, Platform games, reviews
1
shouts

Review: Starhawk

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1781 days, 8 hours, 53 minutes ago
Sunday, August 12, 2012 10:16:39 AM GMT
When Starhawk was announced as the follow-up to 2007's PlayStation 3 exclusive Warhawk, cynical gamers wondered if it would be nothing more than Warhawk in space. Going into this completely cold, I was expecting another generic space marine story. Fortunately for Starhawk, it bucks both of those expectations. (more)
category: ps3 | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: ps3, reviews, sony, starhawk, third person shooter, tower defense, Warhawk
1
shouts

Review: Persona 4 Arena

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1785 days, 11 hours, 55 minutes ago
Wednesday, August 08, 2012 7:14:07 AM GMT
Never in a million years would I have dreamed that I'd be playing a fighter based on a dungeon crawling role-playing game. Yet here I am, button mashing to call forth my Persona every few seconds, then plowing through countless dialogue boxes to follow the healthy storyline after another narrow victory. It's the weirdest thing and I'm still a bit confused, but I'm loving it anyway. (more)
category: xbox360 | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: Atlus, Fighting Games, Persona series, ps3, reviews, top stories, Xbox 360
1
shouts

Review: Deponia

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1786 days, 11 hours, 46 minutes ago
Tuesday, August 07, 2012 7:23:11 AM GMT
LucasArts or Sierra: You could like both, but, more often than not, people tended to prefer one over the other in the golden age of adventure games. Though King’s Quest VI was my introduction to the genre (and the Windows operating system it was bundled with), Maniac Mansion, The Secret of Monkey Island series, and Full Throttle were the games I obsessed over and showed to visiting friends at any opportunity. (more)
category: industry | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: Adventure Games, Daedalic Entertainment, Germany, pc, reviews
1
shouts

Review: Anna

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1789 days, 9 hours, 14 minutes ago
Saturday, August 04, 2012 9:54:42 AM GMT
I enjoy point-and-click horror games very much. They've been an obsession of mine for a few years, drawing upon my nostalgia for my first PC love, Myst, and my attraction to suspense and intrigue. I love miring through the inherent flaws inevitable in a low-budget indie game to find that diamond-in-the-rough experience. In return, I'm often rewarded with a long-lasting chill that prints an indelible mark on my psyche, leaving an impact that inspires me as a writer and challenges me as a person. (more)
category: industry | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: Horror games, Indie, pc, reviews
1
shouts

Review: Mario Tennis Open

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1790 days, 11 hours, 14 minutes ago
Friday, August 03, 2012 7:55:18 AM GMT
Getting its start in stereoscopic 3D on the Virtual Boy back in 1995, the Mario Tennis series has returned to its original roots with Mario Tennis Open on the Nintendo 3DS. It's been seven years since we've seen a brand-new Mario Tennis title, with the last new entry launched on the GameBoy Advance back in 2005. (more)
category: industry | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: 3ds, DS, Mario, nintendo, reviews, sports
1
shouts

Review: ROCCAT Kone[+]

posted by Pedro CubiasPedro Cubias 1792 days, 10 hours, 49 minutes ago
Wednesday, August 01, 2012 8:20:38 AM GMT
Arguably one of the most important components in PC gaming is the mouse. To play at your max, you've got to have the precision and control for your favorite first-person shooter, MMO, or whatever game you play, so it only makes sense to have a kickass mouse, right? (more)
category: industry | clicked: 0 | comment | | source: www.destructoid.com
tags: pc, PC Hardware, reviews
ADVERTISEMENT

Top Games Out Now

Battlefield+1 Battlefield 1 (XBox One)
XBox One | Sports | ESRB: M
Rent Status: Sign-In To View
96.0
Madden+NFL+17 Madden NFL 17 (XBox One)
XBox One | Sports | ESRB: E
Rent Status: Sign-In To View
29.0
NBA+2K17 NBA 2K17 (XBox One)
XBox One | Sports | ESRB: E
Rent Status: Sign-In To View
0.0
Gears+of+War+4 Gears of War 4 (XBox One)
XBox One | Action | ESRB: M
Rent Status: Sign-In To View
88.0
Halo+Wars+2 Halo Wars 2 (XBox One)
XBox One | Action | ESRB: T
Rent Status: Sign-In To View
0.0
Resident+Evil+7%3a+Biohazard Resident Evil 7: Biohazard (XBox On
XBox One | Action | ESRB: M
Rent Status: Sign-In To View
0.0
LEGO+Star+Wars%3a+The+Force+Awakens LEGO Star Wars: The Force Awakens (
XBox One | Action | ESRB: E
Rent Status: Sign-In To View
0.0
Quantum+Break Quantum Break (XBox One)
XBox One | Action | ESRB: M
Rent Status: Sign-In To View
75.0
Tom+Clancy's+The+Division+ Tom Clancy's The Division (XBox One
XBox One | RPG | ESRB: M
Rent Status: Sign-In To View
84.0
LEGO+Worlds LEGO Worlds (XBox One)
XBox One | Simulations | ESRB: E
Rent Status: Sign-In To View
0.0

Secure Transaction: For your protection, this website is secured with the highest level of SSL Certificate encryption.

Need help? Please Email Gamerang Support